When Feelings Are Not Rational

When Feelings Are Not Rational
I’m going to be honest here: for me this article is a manifesto inspired by personal therapy (yes, I have a therapist, too). A manifesto about legitimising one’s feelings and accepting all sides of one’s personality.Probably like many others, I tend to use rationalisation as a defence mechanism. To put it simply: sometimes I think instead of feeling.What is the source of this defence? As a therapist, I can answer that it comes from our childhood. W...

Why Optical Illusions?

Why Optical Illusions?
Recently I have noticed an interesting comparison, and I’d like to share with you my thoughts about it.But first let me show you some famous optical illusions. Most likely you’ve already seen them somewhere on the Internet, but let us look at them one more time.For example, here is the well-known illusion of the girl who rotates in an undetermined direction. I recall a number of lengthy discussions, when it first appeared online, as to which way sh...

So You Wish to Be Perfect?

So You Wish to Be Perfect?
I don't care if it hurts, I want to have control. I want a perfect body, I want a perfect soul.(Radiohead)Sometimes it feels as if you’ve got to do everything perfectly – to be perfect, in fact. It’s like a voice ringing in your head: ‘Don’t you dare get it wrong! Surely you’re capable of doing everything right, so go on, seek options, work hard, pay attention, analyse, and obtain the best result!’ So you set to work, and you’re constantly se

So Who Is Happy Then?

So Who Is Happy Then?
A 12-year-old told me recently how the teacher asked her class to think about whether most people on Earth were happy. As a result, the class ended up discussing what is happiness, actually. A difficult topic, apparently, but one relevant to both schoolchildren and adults.I would like to share a theory from transactional analysis, which, in my opinion, tackles this question best.I must start with a disclaimer: we won’t be talking about feeling happ

Questionnaire to Identify Problematic Stages of Development

Questionnaire to Identify Problematic Stages of Development
Is it true that all psychological problems started in our childhood? According to the theory of transactional analyst Pamela Levin, at different ages children face various development challenges that determine the basic needs and behaviours of children. Knowing this, parents can help children develop harmoniously and to perform tasks that are part of these challenges. Unfortunately it is often the case that due to external circumstances, education, or simp...

Psychotherapist for everyone!

Psychotherapist for everyone!
It seems to me that most people do not use the services of psychotherapists simply because they are not aware of this perfect opportunity. On the Internet you can find so many questions to psychologists - people who passionately want to change something in their lives are randomly looking for answers and tips on the network, not even knowing that there is such a great tool, as psychotherapy. But in my opinion this is not the only problem of the popularizat...

Psychological T-Shirts

Psychological T-Shirts
…or, What Is Written on Our Face.Do you like T-shirts with funny captions? Transactional analysis has a theory about “psychological T-shirts”, on whose front we carry the message we send to the world. This is a message people usually notice at once: it is perceived in conversation, tone, behaviour, looks, facial expression, gestures, and sometimes even in dressing style and posture. We all wear such “T-shirts”, but some of us will have a dozen, changin...

Moving according to Pamela Levin theory or my spiral inside spirals

Moving according to Pamela Levin theory or my spiral inside spirals
I hope you are familiar with the theory of cyclic development of Pamela Levin. If not, I can briefly explain. The concept suggests that each person develops, passing certain stages. And after all these stages of development people are starting to take the same steps again, but on a different level. Similar to a spiral movement.But still, this same theory says that every important event in our lives, starts a new "branch" of the main spiral, which will ...

9 myths about bilinguals

9 myths about bilinguals
There are many myths about who can be called a bilingual, and about the whole phenomenon of bilingualism. Here are the most common ones:Bilingualism is a rare phenomenon.Nope! According to a rough statistics calculation, more than half the world's population uses two or more languages. So in today's world, monolingualism is a more rare phenomenon. Bilingualism is common in even officially monolingual countries - it unites people of different age...

The curse of procrastination

The curse of procrastination
I think that in some way, everybody is familiar with procrastination - postponing important things, mindlessly scrolling through news feeds on social networks, and watching dozens of episodes of mindless sitcoms, as well as many other irrelevant and useless affairs that somehow become wedged into our more important and rational plans.I was planning to write this article a few months ago. But, of course, I had a lot of other important things to do - rep...

Памятка начинающему клиенту

Памятка начинающему клиенту
Мой супервизор недавно рассказал мне о своем клиенте, который был абсолютно уверен, что средняя продолжительность встречи с психотерапевтом – 10 минут. Дело в том, что именно столько времени в Британии обычно уделяют пациентам врачи на приеме. Соответственно, он предположил, что с психотерапией дела обстоят точно так же. Вполне логично – с чего бы ему думать по-другому? Иногда психотерапевты забывают о том, каково это – впервые оказаться в кресле клиента. ...

Преимущества начинающего психотерапевта

Преимущества начинающего психотерапевта
Когда-то давно на одном из обучающих семинаров для психологов прозвучала шутка (в которой, как водится, только доля шутки): «В своей карьере психотерапевты проходят три этапа – сначала ты бегаешь за клиентами, затем клиенты бегают за тобой, а потом уже ты бегаешь от клиентов». Хочу сказать, что для клиента есть преимущества в работе с любым психотерапевтом. Очевидно, именно первая категория специалистов больше всего нуждается в поддержке и продвижении. Так...

Опросник по драйверам

Опросник по драйверам
Цель этого вопросника - помочь Вам определить, в какой тип драйверного поведения Вы часто вовлекаетесь, и, следовательно, какие драйверы наиболее сильны у Вас. Вопросы сформулированы на основе повседневного опыта и предназначены, чтобы стимулировать самоосознавание. Они не представляют собой личностный тест.Поставьте "+" рядом с теми утверждением, которые покажутся вам близкими и "-" там, где утверждения не относятся к вам.Каждая шкала соотве...

Профдеформация психотерапевта

Профдеформация психотерапевта
Мне кажется, что любая профессия оставляет след на личности. Так же, как и особенности личности подталкивают нас к профессии (но это уже совсем другая история). Меня часто спрашивают: «ты же, наверное, теперь всех постоянно анализируешь?» И осторожно поглядывают или нервно улыбаются, будто бы у меня есть встроенный психологический сканнер и я вот прямо сейчас узнаю все их страшные секреты. Открою тайну – сканнера нету. Зато есть другие особенности, которые...

Радости переезда

Радости переезда
Переезд – это конечно стресс. И, конечно же, во время таких серьезных жизненных перемен важно заботиться о себе и создавать себе комфортные условия. Но кроме того, переезд – это очень хороший повод избавиться от ненужного (и я имею в виду не столько горы старой одежды и ненужных вещей, которые выбрасываются, отдаются или продаются перед переездом, а старые привычки, способы мышления и другие неактуальные составляющие нашей жизни).У каждого набор оставл...

Тест на определение жизненной позиции

Тест на определение жизненной позиции
Это упражнение поможет вам определить, насколько вы в вашей нынешней взрослой жизни продолжаете следовать заложенным в детстве установкам. Оценить родительские установки окейности вам может помочь предыдущий тест. Начните следить за своими словами и мыслями и отметьте, какие из приведенных здесь выражений характерны для вас. Далее приведены наиболее типичные мысли и высказывания, раскрывающие каждую жизненную позицию. Последовательно ставьте плюсы возле

Родительские послания об ок-позициях (тест)

Родительские послания об ок-позициях (тест)
Этот тест поможет определить склонность к каждой из четырех ОК позиций. Более подробно об окейности и о жизненных позициях вы можете узнать в материалах и курсах по Транзактному Анализу. Конечно, вспомнить себя в возрасте до двух лет (когда закладываются основы той или иной позиции) невозможно, да и не нужно. Потому что и в более позднем возрасте родители вели себя с вами точно так же, как в первые два года, с теми или иными незначительными вариантами. Вы...

Психологические игры – зачем они нужны?

Психологические игры – зачем они нужны?
(На примере социальных сетей)В современном мире огромная часть общения переместилась в социальные сети. Мы выражаем себя через гаджеты и девайсы, ищем в недрах фейсбука единомышленников и даже расставляем свои приоритеты, учитывая популярные в Интернете посты.На примерах из социальных сетей я хочу наглядно объяснить, зачем люди «играют» в психологические игры.Для начала чуть подробнее о том, что же такое психологическая игра. В данном случае я ...

Когда чувства не рациональны

Когда чувства не рациональны
Скажу честно, эта статья для меня – манифест, навеянный личной терапией (да-да, у меня тоже есть свой психотерапевт). Манифест о легитимизации своих чувств и о принятии всех сторон своей личности.Думаю, как и много других людей, я использую рационализацию в качестве защитного механизма. Если говорить по-простому: иногда вместо того, чтобы чувствовать, я думаю.Откуда же берется эта защита? Отвечу как психотерапевт – из детства. Когда падаешь с велос...

При чем здесь оптические иллюзии?

При чем здесь оптические иллюзии?
Я недавно обратила внимание на одно интересное сравнение и решила поделиться своими размышлениями на эту тему.Но для начала хочу развлечь вас несколькими известными иллюзиями. Скорее всего, вы уже встречали их где-то на просторах Интернета, но давайте посмотрим на них еще раз.Например, вот известная иллюзия с девушкой, которая вращается в неизвестном направлении. Я помню, в свое время были целые дебаты о том, в какую же сторону она крутится. Кому-т...